Fédération Internationale de Football Association Dictionary Definitions

According to abbreviationfinder, Federation Internationale de Football Association is commonly known as FIFA.

A decade without a World Championship

The World Championship was to have been played for the fourth time in 1942. However, in the 1938 Congress held in Paris, the designation of an organizing country was renounced, so the 1942 Championship was never held.

The next Congress was not held until the 1 as Julio as 1946 in Luxembourg were represented 34 associations, delegates gave President Jules Rimet (after 25 years against FIFA) a beautiful gift.

Thereafter, the World Championship trophy would be called the Jules Rimet Cup. For the 1949 championship, which was postponed for a year due to lack of time, only one candidacy was presented and that of Brazil was chosen unanimously; and so the 1950 World Championship was held in that country, at the same time, Switzerland was granted an option for the year 1954.

In 1946 it was the year of the return of the 4 British associations to FIFA, again this success was possible thanks to the diplomatic gifts of Jules Rimet, who found two broad-minded interlocutors in the people of Arthur Drewry and Sir Stanley Rous, the latter was chosen the 6th. President of FIFA.

Many nations achieved their independence and ran to join FIFA. The number of member associations was growing rapidly. In addition, the television broadcast of the World Cup contributed greatly to the global expansion of soccer.

The funds came only from the profits of the World Cups and, with that income, they had to organize the four-year budget, with many sacrifices, it was possible to consolidate and preserve the work.

In recognition of his merits, the November of June of 1974 was named in Frankfurt Honorary President of FIFA. That day, Rous was succeeded by the Brazilian João Havelange, who transformed FIFA into a dynamic company full of new ideas and structured it as a commercial industry during this time increased the number of teams participating in the Soccer World Cup to 24 in Spain. in 1982 and in France in 1998 it increased to 32 teams.

In this way, it became the most popular World Cup in history, allowing the participation of a greater number of teams per confederation. Politically, FIFA began with a vocation for service and a notion of universality, Havelange’s integrity earned the respect of national associations.

An example of the rise of this organization was the meeting held in 1993 in Zurich, which brought together representatives from Iraq and Iran, both North and South Korea, Japan and Saudi Arabia, to discuss administrative and organizational details of the finalists. Asians at the 1994World Cup, all in a friendly atmosphere of peace and harmony.

Over the last 25 years, FIFA has managed to spread its influence around the world, both in sports and in the social, commercial and political spheres. With more than 200 million active players, soccer has become one of the newest entertainment industries. The latent potential has yet to be exploited, particularly in Asia and North America.

Since mid- 2000, FIFA’s growth has been unprecedented, reaching 204 affiliated associations and becoming one of the largest international sports federations with more than 200 million active members.

The 8 of June of 1998, Joseph S. Blatter (Switzerland) succeeded Joao Havelange (Brazil) and was elected the eighth President of FIFA. This victory obtained at the 51st ordinary FIFA Congress, held in Paris, France, led to Joseph S. Blatter, who had already held various positions for more than twenty-three years in the federation, Joseph Blatter, has organized the World Cup for the first time of Soccer in Asia (2002 World Cup) and the recently completed South Africa Soccer World Cup 2010, first in Africa.

FIFA organization

Membership in FIFA is open to any association or federation in charge of organizing Football in the different countries, but there can only be one affiliate per country, the exception being the four football associations in the United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland), ascribed for historical reasons, as the United Kingdom was the place where modern football was born. At the continental level, FIFA has affiliates with the following confederations:

  • South American Football Confederation (Conmebol, 1916).
  • European Union of Football Associations (UEFA, 1954).
  • Asian Football Confederation (AFC, 1954).
  • African Football Confederation (CAF, 1957).
  • Football Confederation of North, Central America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF, 1961).
  • Oceania Football Confederation (OFC, 1966).

Men’s competitions

Participating teams
Tournament Last Tournament Current Champion
Soccer World Cup South Africa 2010 Spain
U-20 Soccer World Cup Egypt 2009 Ghana
U17 Soccer World Cup Nigeria 2009 Switzerland
FIFA Confederations Cup South Africa 2009 Brazil
FIFA Futsal World Championship Brazil 2008 Brazil
FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup Dubai 2009 Brazil
Men’s Olympic Soccer Tournament Beijing 2008 Argentina
FIFA Club World Cup United Arab Emirates 2009 FC Barcelona


Commission President
FIFA Finance Committee Julio Grondona
FIFA Legal Affairs Committee Angel Maria Villar
Club Soccer Commission Michel Platini
FIFA Refereeing Committee Angel Maria Villar
FIFA Women’s Football Committee Worawi makudi
FIFA Futsal and Beach Soccer Committee Ricardo Texeira
Organizing Committee for the FIFA World Cup Issa hayatou
Sportsmanship and Social Responsibility Commission Senes Erzik
Associations Commission Geoff thompson
Marketing and Television Commission Julio Grondona
Disciplinary Commission Marcel mathier
Stadium and Safety Commission Junji okura


Name Nationality Finished
1 Robert Guérin France 1904 – 1906
2 Daniel Burley Woolfall England 1906 – 1918
3 Jules rimet France 1921 – 1954
4 Rodolphe Seeldrayers Belgium 1954 – 1955
5 Arthur Drewry England 1955 – 1961
6 Stanley rous England 1961 – 1974
7 João Havelange Brazil 1974 – 1998
8 Joseph blatter Switzerland 1998 – 2016
9 Gianni Infantino Switzerland 2016 – Present

Fédération Internationale de Football Association